Removing the add-on upsell

You may have noticed a little bit of text trying to sell you additional functionality after you installed The Events Calendar plugin. No, that's not a used car salesman trying to trick you into buying a jalopy. That's just us reminding you that more calendar features can be unlocked by purchasing add ons to the plugin.

We've found this to be a helpful way of letting people like you know how to get more out of the plugin. At the same time, we understand how that text can feel like it's getting in the way of doing what's most important: creating and managing events!

The content appears in two places:

  • Settings. If you have ever visited your events settings page (Events > Settings), you have probably seen this text hanging out in the box above your general settings:
    kb-remove_upsell-settings_message
  • Event editing screen. You may have also noticed the "Additional Functionality" section when publishing or editing an event. It sits toward the very bottom of the screen below the Event Cost section:
    kb-remove_upsell-event_message

So how do I get rid of it?

It's actually pretty simple to remove the messages. In fact, it only takes one line of code to remove both of them. Add the following line to your site's wp-config.php file, which is located at the root of your WordPress installation:

define('TRIBE_HIDE_UPSELL', true);

You'll probably see a few other lines in that file that start with "define." You can place this snippet below the last one and it should work nicely.